Artist Interview – Esiri Essi

Screen Shot 2020-03-14 at 10.11.39 AM

1) How do you motivate yourself?

EE: It’s a bit difficult to explain without sounding like a cliche but I just love painting and never really think of motivation. Maybe I am lucky but I’m always busy with hoarding images (online, from flea markets or through eBay auctions) that might at some point or other compel me into my studio to paint. I don’t believe that you sit around waiting for a burst of inspiration to hit you, but rather that by continuously working inspiration stays on your side. Even though my mind is over active and always working, sometimes physically it can be hard – for instance I took 9 months off from painting after the birth of my child and going back to the studio afterwards I did feel rusty, but I had so many ideas that I jumped back on the horse and made 11 paintings in 4 months.

My husband always sends me to the studio when I’ve had a bit of a break because I became ‘a pain in the arse’ when not painting.

Screen Shot 2020-03-14 at 10.12.05 AM

2) How do you structure your time?

EE: Kindergarten hours are my working hours in the studio. I have an 18 month old child and it’s been overwhelming finding a balance that works well. Before I was a mother, I would work in the studio from the afternoon until after midnight like the night owl I am. Now when my child is in kindergarten, I work office hours in the studio between 9:30 am until 5:30 pm and then I’m off home. I’m actually more productive now as my time in the studio is precious and I no longer waste hours watching goat videos on YouTube and just get stuck in.

Screen Shot 2020-03-14 at 10.20.08 AM

3) What do you listen to when you work?

EE: I have many painting playlists depending on the mood but the usual suspects that keep me dancing in the studio are:

The Lijadu Sisters

David Bowie

Diana Ross and the Supremes

Kate Bush

X-Ray Spex

Solange Knowles

The Kinks

Aretha Franklin 

Bob Marley

Fela Kuti

Beyoncé

Screen Shot 2020-03-14 at 10.14.16 AM

4) Who are three artists that inspire you?

EE: Henry Taylor, I love his energy, painting style and his figures feels alive.

Kerry James Marshall, I love his classical approach, the monumental canvases and his dedication to having black figures take up space in the art world. 

Jean-Michel Basquiat is the painter that I have loved the longest, have the most books on, dragged my husband to 3 different cities in 3 different countries just to see the same retrospective exhibition and who (along with Lucian Freud) got me into painting.

Screen Shot 2020-03-14 at 10.12.49 AM

5) What’s the best piece(s) of advice you have been given?

EE: Probably from my old tutor Marlene Dumas when talking about source images. I used to paint everything in the image and she helped me see that editing and picking and choosing what to keep and leave out can add much more to the painting.

Screen Shot 2020-03-14 at 10.12.21 AM

6) Describe an object or tool related to your work that you love.

EE: My wooden slat bench that someone in Amsterdam put out as trash and my hubby found for me and that I use as my ‘easel’. I make medium to large paintings and I couldn’t afford an easel at the time, and years later I still prefer to use it instead of buying a large easel. And my iPhone, I use it to take progress shots to get some distance.

Screen Shot 2020-03-14 at 10.24.28 AM

7) An anonymous patron has donated $100,000 for you to build your dream studio, what would it look like and where would it be?

EE: Well I’m from the city (London and live in Amsterdam) so 100,000 wouldn’t be enough. But if the anonymous donor coughs up another 200,000 then I’d love to buy an old school building, either brick or those old wooden Swedish village ‘faluröd’ ones with large classrooms, that I’d set up my home and studio in. It would be nice to have my studio close by when my kid has nap time or is in bed.

Screen Shot 2020-03-14 at 10.17.49 AM

Find Esiri on Instagram at @esiri.essi

And online here

Leave a comment